Skip to content
Go back
An empty gray velvet ring tray and a jeweler's loupe on a glass counter in a jewelry store, one of the places to buy engagement rings

Best Place to Buy Engagement Rings: 16 Stores' Written Terms Compared

Updated:
Verified with 45 sources

RingReel may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Picks come from our research, never from payment. How we make money

The best place to buy engagement rings is the store whose written terms still protect you after the ring arrives, and those terms differ far more than the advertising suggests. We read the returns, resizing, grading and warranty pages of 16 jewelers in September 2026: Rare Carat is our overall pick for the plainest refund terms online, and Shane Co. has the most forgiving returns, 60 days, with ring sizing that does not cost you the return. We sell none of these rings, though we may earn a commission through some of the links, as the note under the date says. Several of the guides ranking for this search are published by the stores themselves, and each one we read puts its own name first.

Our Top Picks

  1. Our top pick

    Best overall

    Rare Carat

    A buyer who wants the plainest refund terms online and a grading report from a named lab.

    • Online; natural and lab-grown diamonds
    Check it at Rare Carat (opens the maker's site in a new tab)
  2. Best return terms

    Shane Co.

    A buyer who may need the ring sized and still wants the right to send it back.

    • Stores and online
    Check it at Shane Co. (opens the maker's site in a new tab)
  3. Best trade-up terms

    Brilliant Earth

    A buyer who expects to upgrade the diamond later and wants the lowest step up to do it.

    • Online; natural and lab-grown diamonds
    Check it at Brilliant Earth (opens the maker's site in a new tab)
  4. Best for the James Allen catalog

    Blue Nile

    A buyer guessing the size, who needs room to go two sizes either way after delivery.

    • Online; also sells the James Allen Collection
    Check it at Blue Nile (opens the maker's site in a new tab)
  5. Best for engraved rings

    Angara

    A buyer who wants the ring engraved before the proposal without giving up the return.

    • Online; gemstone and diamond rings
    Check it at Angara (opens the maker's site in a new tab)
  6. Best in-store luxury

    Tiffany & Co.

    A buyer who wants the Tiffany name and store service, and reads the returns FAQ before paying.

    • Stores and online; its own diamond certificate
    Check it at Tiffany & Co. (opens the maker's site in a new tab)
What is on this page12 sections

Key Takeaways

The Best Places to Buy Engagement Rings Compared

The six stores below are the ones we would send a friend to, and each earns its place with a term it puts in writing. The comparison is built from what each store publishes, not from how it markets itself, so the columns are the four promises that matter once the ring is on a finger.

Six places to buy engagement rings compared: return window, resizing and what it does to the return, grading labs named, warranty upkeep and warranty
RingReturnsResizing, and the returnGrading labs namedInspectionsWarranty
Rare CaratBest overall30 days from the shipment date for a full refund, original shipping included, no restocking feesOne free resize in the first year; a ring sent for resizing can no longer be returnedGIA, IGI or GCAL report, per Rare Carat's own guideIts Jewelry Care Plan page says a routine inspection is not requiredLifetime or 3-year Jewelry Care Plan available; no routine inspection required under it
Shane Co.Best return terms60 days from purchase, in a store or by FedExFree as often as needed; standard sizing does not affect return eligibilityNot stated on the pages we readA Care & Cleaning inspection every six months keeps the warranty activeLifetime warranty covering cleanings, repairs and resizing, kept active by six-monthly inspections
Brilliant EarthBest trade-up terms30 days from when the order is available for shipment or pickup, free FedEx return labelOne free resize within 60 days, or up to a year within the sizing range; resized rings cannot be returnedGIA, IGI, HRD and GCAL, per its product pagesNo inspection requirement stated; work by an unauthorized jeweler voids the warrantyFree lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects; after 60 days, replacement only for pieces under $1,000
Blue NileBest for the James Allen catalog30 days from the shipment date, not delivery; two free return shipments a yearOne free resize within a year, up or down two sizes; resized items cannot be returnedNot stated on the pages we could readRecommends, but does not require, cleaning and inspection every six monthsLimited lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects; lost, chipped or damaged stones are excluded
AngaraBest for engraved rings30 days from delivery; engraved items can be returnedOne free resize in the first year, then paid; resizing by another jeweler ends the returnGIA named for its certified gemstone rings; not stated for diamonds on the pages we readNot stated; repair or resizing by another jeweler voids the warrantyWarranty that every piece is free from manufacturing defects
Tiffany & Co.Best in-store luxury30 days for credit or exchange; no refunds above $75,000; engraved or altered items excludedComplimentary resizing on engagement rings; Tiffany states there are no restrictions but recommends against resizing multiple timesIts own Tiffany Diamond CertificateNo inspection requirement found on the pages we readFull Lifetime Warranty that the Tiffany Diamond Certificate is true at the point of sale

The Six Stores, Reviewed

Best overall

Rare Carat

by Rare Carat

Best for: A buyer who wants the plainest refund terms online and a grading report from a named lab.

Rare Carat refunds the original shipping cost with a return and charges no restocking fee, the cleanest refund wording of the online sellers we read, but its free resize ends the right to return, like most of them.

What we like

  • A full refund within 30 days of shipment, including the original shipping cost, with no restocking fees
  • Names the grading labs behind its diamonds: GIA, IGI or GCAL
  • Its care plan page states that no routine inspection is required

Keep in mind

  • The 30 days start at shipment, not delivery, so transit time comes out of your window
  • A ring sent in for resizing is no longer eligible for return
  • Its own buying guide ranks Rare Carat first and calls James Allen out of business, while Blue Nile still sells a James Allen Collection
Material
Online; natural and lab-grown diamonds
Guarantee
Lifetime or 3-year Jewelry Care Plan available; no routine inspection required under it
Check it at Rare Carat (opens the maker's site in a new tab)

Best return terms

Shane Co.

by Shane Co.

Best for: A buyer who may need the ring sized and still wants the right to send it back.

Shane Co. ties Clean Origin for the longest return window of the sixteen stores we read, 60 days, and says in writing that ring sizing does not affect whether you can return the ring, the opposite of most online sellers.

What we like

  • 60 days to return or exchange, twice the usual window
  • Standard work such as ring sizing does not affect return eligibility, in Shane Co.'s own words
  • Complimentary resizing as often as you need it under the warranty

Keep in mind

  • The warranty stays active only with a Care & Cleaning inspection every six months
  • Work by any jeweler other than Shane Co. can void the warranty
  • No grading lab is named on the returns or warranty pages we read
Material
Stores and online
Guarantee
Lifetime warranty covering cleanings, repairs and resizing, kept active by six-monthly inspections
Check it at Shane Co. (opens the maker's site in a new tab)

Best trade-up terms

Brilliant Earth

by Brilliant Earth

Best for: A buyer who expects to upgrade the diamond later and wants the lowest step up to do it.

Brilliant Earth credits the full original price of a loose natural diamond toward one of at least 1.5x greater value, a lower step than the twice-the-price rule at Blue Nile and Tiffany, and, among the stores we read, matched only by Whiteflash on its own branded diamonds.

What we like

  • Trade-up credit at the full original price toward a natural diamond of at least 1.5x the value
  • Names four grading labs on its product pages: GIA, IGI, HRD and GCAL
  • A 60-day resize window that does not depend on the sizing range

Keep in mind

  • Rings that have been resized or modified are not eligible for return
  • After 60 days the warranty replaces damaged pieces only under $1,000 in value
  • The return clock starts when the order is available to ship, not on delivery
Material
Online; natural and lab-grown diamonds
Guarantee
Free lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects; after 60 days, replacement only for pieces under $1,000
Check it at Brilliant Earth (opens the maker's site in a new tab)

Best for the James Allen catalog

Blue Nile

by Blue Nile

Best for: A buyer guessing the size, who needs room to go two sizes either way after delivery.

Blue Nile blocks automated reading, so its policy pages were read through Internet Archive copies captured in August and September 2026; jamesallen.com now redirects to Blue Nile, whose menu sells a James Allen Collection, and its free resize covers two sizes in either direction for a year.

What we like

  • A free resize up or down two sizes for a year, if the design permits
  • Upgrade credit at 100% toward a diamond at least twice the original price
  • Six-monthly inspections are recommended, not a condition of the warranty

Keep in mind

  • The 30 days run from the shipment date, and resized items are excluded from returns
  • Only two complimentary return shipments per customer each year
  • The warranty does not cover lost, chipped or damaged diamonds
Material
Online; also sells the James Allen Collection
Guarantee
Limited lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects; lost, chipped or damaged stones are excluded
Check it at Blue Nile (opens the maker's site in a new tab)

Best for engraved rings

Angara

by Angara

Best for: A buyer who wants the ring engraved before the proposal without giving up the return.

Angara is the only store we read that says engraved jewelry can still be returned; its exclusions name items modified or worn by the buyer and resizing by another jeweler, without saying whether its own free resize counts as a modification.

What we like

  • Engraved jewelry items are eligible for return, which almost every other store excludes
  • The 30 days run from delivery, not from shipment
  • One free resize within the first year, with free shipping both ways inside the first 30 days

Keep in mind

  • A second resize is charged
  • Returns after the 30 days carry a 20% restocking fee
  • No grading lab is named for its diamonds on the policy pages we read
Material
Online; gemstone and diamond rings
Guarantee
Warranty that every piece is free from manufacturing defects
Check it at Angara (opens the maker's site in a new tab)

Best in-store luxury

Tiffany & Co.

by Tiffany & Co.

Best for: A buyer who wants the Tiffany name and store service, and reads the returns FAQ before paying.

Tiffany issues its own Tiffany Diamond Certificate and backs its accuracy for life, a different promise from a manufacturing warranty, and resizes its engagement rings free with no stated limit.

What we like

  • Complimentary resizing on engagement rings, with no stated restriction, though Tiffany recommends against resizing multiple times
  • A lifetime warranty on what the diamond certificate states
  • Upgrade credit up to the original purchase price toward a ring at least twice the price

Keep in mind

  • Returns are for credit or exchange, and purchases above $75,000 are exchange only
  • Personalized, altered or engraved items cannot be returned
  • Its men's engagement ring listing says non returnable, against the 30 days in its own FAQ
Material
Stores and online; its own diamond certificate
Guarantee
Full Lifetime Warranty that the Tiffany Diamond Certificate is true at the point of sale
Check it at Tiffany & Co. (opens the maker's site in a new tab)

Why the Other Ten Are Not Picks

How We Chose

Every Store’s Policy, in Its Own Words

This is the table no ranking in the search results carries: the return window and the resizing rule, quoted from each store’s own page and dated. Read the third column before you order anything, because it is where a free service quietly takes away a free return.

StoreReturn window, as writtenWhat sizing does to the returnRead on
Rare Carat”within 30 days of the shipment date for a full refund""Items sent in for resizing aren’t eligible for return.”14/09/2026
Blue Nile”Returns must be initiated within 30 days of the shipment date""resized items” are on the not-eligible listArchive copy, 13/08/2026
Brilliant Earth”simply return or exchange it within 30 days""Rings that have been resized or modified.” are not eligible14/09/2026
With Clarity”within 30 calendar days from the date of your receipt""Items that have been submitted for resizing, even if still within the 30-day return period”14/09/2026
Clean Origin”Your 60-day return window begins on the day your order is ready for delivery or pickup""Orders that have been exchanged or resized are not eligible for return”Archive copy, 27/07/2026
VRAI”VRAI’s standard 30-day return window from delivery""Modified or resized rings” are not eligible14/09/2026
Angara”within 30 days from the date of delivery”Excludes items “Damaged, modified or already worn by you” and rings “Repaired, re-sized or engraved by another jeweler”14/09/2026
Whiteflash30 days on its own branded diamonds; “10 Day Money Back Guarantee Applies to all other certified diamonds, including lab created diamonds”Excludes custom work “other than normal sizing or engraving”14/09/2026
Shane Co.”within 60 days of purchase""Most standard work — such as ring sizing, mountings, or engravings — does not affect return eligibility.”14/09/2026
Kay”Returns are allowed within 30 days from the purchase (shipment) date and exchanges within 60 days”Excludes jewelry “altered/modified beyond sizing”14/09/2026
ZalesSame 30 days to return and 60 to exchange”If you return a sized-to-order ring, we will refund the sizing fee once we process your return.”14/09/2026
Jared”for up to 30 days after purchase (shipped)“Sizing is not named in the exclusions we read14/09/2026
Helzberg”refund or exchange within 30 days of purchase”Not stated for rings; sized watches are final sale14/09/2026
Robbins Brothers”IN-STORE 30-DAY MONEY-BACK GUARANTEE”In store, a ring “worn, altered (extreme head change), or sized” is excluded; online, only one “Sized outside of Robbins Brothers’ recommended sizing parameters”14/09/2026
Tiffany & Co.”Engagement rings are accepted for credit or exchange in the U.S. within 30 days of purchase.""Personalized, altered, or engraved items are not eligible for return or exchange.”14/09/2026
Costco”You may return jewelry purchased on Costco.com for a refund including all shipping and handling fees.”Costco does not size before shipping: “We are not able to customize items that are offered on Costco.com.”14/09/2026

Free Resizing That Ends Your Free Return

Six stores advertise a free resize and a free return, and then write that using the first ends the second. Rare Carat puts it most plainly: “Items sent in for resizing aren’t eligible for return.” Brilliant Earth, Blue Nile, With Clarity, Clean Origin and VRAI say the same in their exclusion lists. None of them hides it, but none of them puts it next to the offer either.

The practical rule is to wear the ring for most of the return window before sending it for sizing. If the size is badly wrong, ask for an exchange rather than a resize while the window is open, since an exchange is a different transaction at most of these stores.

Three stores publish the opposite, and they are the reason this matters. Shane Co. writes that standard work such as ring sizing “does not affect return eligibility”. Zales refunds the sizing fee on a returned sized-to-order ring. Whiteflash excludes custom work “other than normal sizing or engraving”. Angara’s list excludes items “modified” by the buyer and resizing “by another jeweler”, and it does not say whether its own free resize counts as a modification, so we do not read a promise into it. For what a resize costs when it is not free, see our guide to ring resizing cost.

Where the Clock Starts

A 30-day window is not 30 days of wear if it starts at the warehouse. Blue Nile states that its timeframe “begins when your order ships, not when it is delivered”, and Rare Carat counts from the shipment date as well. Brilliant Earth starts when the purchase is available for shipment or pickup. Angara and VRAI count from delivery, With Clarity from receipt, and the mall chains from the purchase date. If you are ordering for a proposal date, count backward from delivery, not from checkout.

Fees That Come Out of a Refund

Most online sellers here charge nothing to return an unaltered ring, and the exceptions are specific. As read in September 2026, VRAI deducts a recycling fee of 300 dollars on a refunded engagement ring unless you take store credit. With Clarity allows a second return within 30 days only as store credit or with a 20% restocking fee. Angara charges 20% for a return after its 30-day window. Clean Origin can charge a 150-dollar restocking fee if the return is not shipped within 14 days of authorization. Rare Carat states there are “no restocking fees”.

Warranties That Expire Unless You Visit

An opened cardboard shipping box with white tissue paper, an empty blue ring box and a blank sheet of paper with a pen, the paperwork side of returning an engagement ring bought online

A lifetime warranty is only as long as its conditions, and several stores attach one that the buyer can lose by missing an appointment. This is the term most worth reading before choosing a store you do not live near.

StoreWhat keeps the coverage in forceIn its own words
Kay and JaredA documented inspection every six months”you must have your diamond and/or gemstone inspected and have the inspection documented every six months”
ZalesAn inspection every six months, with the record”you need to bring your diamond to Zales every six months for cleaning and inspection, along with your inspection record”
Shane Co.A Care & Cleaning inspection every six monthsAsked “Do I have to do anything to keep the warranty active?”, it answers “Yes! Bring or mail in your Shane Co. jewelry for a Care & Cleaning inspection every six months.”
HelzbergInspections under its Lifetime Care Plan”you must have your jewelry inspected by a Helzberg associate during the first six months following the date of purchase and every six months thereafter”
Robbins BrothersOne store visit a year for rings bought online”you must bring it into any Robbins Brothers store once a year in order for your warranty to stay current”
Blue NileRecommended, not required”we recommend having your jewelry cleaned and inspected every six months”
Rare CaratNot required under its care plan”A routine inspection is not required by Rare Carat.”
Tiffany & Co.Nothing found; the warranty is on the certificateThe certificate warranty promises “the information on the Tiffany Diamond Certificate is true at the point of sale”

The Stone Is Often What the Warranty Leaves Out

The free guarantees at Kay and Jared replace a diamond that “chips, breaks, or is lost from its original setting during normal wear”, which is valuable, but Kay’s separate Lifetime Protection Plan states it “does not cover: Any diamond or gemstone in the Merchandise”. With Clarity’s warranty says “Center stone diamonds and gemstones on engagement rings are also not covered under warranty.” Blue Nile’s excludes “Lost, chipped or damaged diamonds or gemstones”, and Brilliant Earth’s excludes “loss of gemstones”. On most of these, the metal is covered and the expensive part is not, which is why engagement ring insurance is a separate question.

Who Voids the Warranty

Six of the stores here void their warranty if another jeweler works on the ring. Brilliant Earth: “Repair or service performed by a jeweler not authorized by Brilliant Earth will void the warranty.” Blue Nile, With Clarity, Angara, Clean Origin and Shane Co. publish the same rule in their own words. If you live far from the store, that clause decides more than the length of the warranty does.

Grading Reports: Which Labs Each Store Names

Fine steel tweezers holding a loose round diamond above a blank white card beside a jeweler's loupe on a wooden bench, the stone a grading report describes

A grading report is the one document that describes the diamond independently of the seller, so it matters which lab wrote it and whether every stone has one. The stores that name labs do not name the same ones.

Two dated facts change how to read a lab-grown report. GIA announced that from October 1, 2025 it describes lab-grown diamonds as “Premium” or “Standard” and “will no longer use the nomenclature” it built for natural diamonds, so a lab-grown GIA report will not carry the familiar color and clarity grades. And since the FTC’s 2018 revision of its Jewelry Guides, a lab-grown stone with the same properties is a diamond under the definition, disclosed as laboratory-grown. Our lab-grown vs natural diamond guide covers what each report tells you.

Online or in Store?

Neither is safer by default, and the terms show why. The online sellers mostly give 30 days, several from the shipment date, and most lose the return if the ring is resized. The mall chains give 30 days to return and 60 to exchange, but Kay handles exchanges only in its stores, and their free diamond guarantees need a store visit every six months. Robbins Brothers ties an online buyer’s warranty to a yearly store visit and “will not accept any product that is mailed into us” for it.

So the question is less online or in store than how far you live from the store. If you can reach one twice a year, the in-store guarantees are real value. If you cannot, a warranty that requires no inspection, or recommends one without requiring it, is worth more than a longer-sounding one you will lose. Our average engagement ring cost guide covers what the ring itself runs to wherever you buy it.

The Stores’ Own Guides Put Themselves First

Several of the results for this search are written by the stores being ranked, and the two we checked in full rank themselves first. Rare Carat’s guide opens its verdict with “Rare Carat is the best place to buy an engagement ring in 2026”. Brilliant Earth’s guide sorts stores into categories and names Brilliant Earth first in the first one. Neither is dishonest about who wrote it, but neither is a comparison either.

The clearest sign of the problem is James Allen. Rare Carat’s guide says James Allen “went out of business in 2026”. The Internet Archive shows jamesallen.com redirecting to Blue Nile in July 2026, and Blue Nile’s own menu, in an August 2026 capture, sells a “JAMES ALLEN COLLECTION”. Signet Jewelers lists Blue Nile, Kay, Zales and Jared among its brands. A rival’s guide to where to buy is still a rival’s guide.

Which Store Fits Your Situation?

Your situationWhere to look firstWhy
You may need it sized and still want to return itShane Co.Sizing “does not affect return eligibility”, with 60 days
You want a refund with nothing deductedRare CaratFull refund including original shipping, “no restocking fees”
You want to engrave it before the proposalAngaraEngraved items are eligible for return
You expect to upgrade the diamondBrilliant EarthTrade-up credit toward a natural diamond at least 1.5x the value
You live near a mall and will visit twice a yearKay, Zales or JaredFree diamond guarantees, kept with six-monthly inspections
You cannot get to a store regularlyA warranty with no inspection requirementMissing a visit can end the coverage at Kay, Jared, Zales, Shane Co. and Helzberg
You want a lab-grown stone with a long windowClean Origin60 days, though resized orders are final sale
You are buying a men’s ringOur comparison of men’s engagement ringsSee men’s engagement rings compared
Your budget stops near five hundred dollarsZales, Helzberg or AngaraSee engagement rings under $500

For a ring designed from scratch, where returns work differently again, see our comparison of custom engagement ring services.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where’s the Best Place to Buy an Engagement Ring?

The one whose written terms still protect you once the ring is home. On that test Rare Carat is our overall pick, and Shane Co. gives the longest window of the sixteen we read without resizing costing you the return. Whichever you choose, read the returns page for sizing, engraving and when the clock starts.

Is It Better to Buy Engagement Rings Online or in Store?

Neither is better by default. Online sellers here mostly give 30 days and usually void the return once a ring is resized, while mall chains add a 60-day exchange but tie their diamond guarantees to regular store inspections. Choose by how easily you can reach a store, not by where the prices look lower.

Is Zales or Kay Better?

On paper they are nearly identical. Signet Jewelers lists both among its brands, and both give 30 days to return and 60 to exchange, with the same six-monthly inspection behind their diamond guarantees. The one difference we found is that Zales states it refunds the sizing fee when a sized-to-order ring is returned.

Is Costco a Good Place to Get Wedding Rings?

It can be, with limits worth knowing first. Costco will not size or alter a ring before it ships, and a returned diamond over one carat gets a Jewelry Credit Memo while a Costco gemologist inspects it. Its jewelry PDF says larger stones come with an IGI appraisal, and the largest add a GIA report.

Why Is Blue Nile So Much Cheaper?

No Blue Nile page we read explains its pricing, so we cannot say why, and we would rather tell you that than guess. What can be compared is the paperwork: 30 days from the shipment date, one free resize within a year, and a lifetime warranty that leaves out lost or damaged stones.

What Is the Most Reputable Engagement Ring Company?

We found no published ranking of jeweler reputation that could be verified, and we do not republish review scores. What can be checked instead is what each company commits to in writing: the length of the return window, what ends it, which grading labs it names, and whether the warranty depends on inspections.

Sources


Share this post:

Previous Post
Cheap Wedding Bands: 5 Picks Priced by Metal, From Under $10
Next Post
Men's Engagement Rings: 5 Picks and What Sellers Mean by the Name